IFCAA - International Fire Chiefs' Assosiation of Asia



Date: May 26, 1960

IFCAA was established on the strong request of fire chiefs in Asian countries.
In May 1958, the 10th General Conference of the Fire Chiefs' Association of Japan was held in Tokyo with Asian fire / emergency services personnel as conference guests.
Those participants made a joint proposal for the formation of an international conference organization for the improvement and development of the fire services in Japan and other Asian countries.
In response to this proposal, the Fire Chiefs' Association of Japan established a steering secretariat immediately. Following the guidance of the Fire Defense Agency, the secretariat deliberated and coordinated opinions from other Asian countries, and realized the establishment of IFCAA.

(1) English name: International Fire Chiefs’ Association of Asia (IFCAA)
(2) Participating nations at the 10th General Conference of Fire Chiefs' Association of Japan: Republic of the Philippines, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Republic of Indonesia, kingdom of Thailand, East Pakistan, etc.
(3) The 1st IFCAA General Conference
Date and Place : May 26, 1960. In Tokyo
Participating nations: Republic of the Philippines, Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Malaysia, Republic of Indonesia, kingdom of Cambodia and Kingdom of Thailand.
Special Participation: U.S.A. and French Republic


The purpose of this Association is to maintain international friendly relations among fire chiefs in Asia and Oceania, promote the study of techniques and measures for protecting human lives and property from fire, exchange knowledge and information on the fire service, and thus contribute to the development of fire services in Asian and Oceanian areas.
(Article 2 of Constitution)


(1) Members

This organization consists of about 800 members from 19 countries and 3 regions.
Member countries and regions:
Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Guam, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Korea, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam and Japan

(2) Officers (Term of office: 4 years)

President: Japan
Vice-President: Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore
Directors: Those elected from each country in proportion to the number of members


(1) Projects

(1)Holding General Conference (once in two years)
(2)Exchange of information through the Association's bulletins.
(3)Research on overseas fire service (including attendance at international conferences)
(4)Implementation of projects to accomplish our purpose

5. History of General Conferences

1stMay, 1960Tokyo, Japan
2ndMay, 1962Tokyo, Japan
3rdOctober, 1964Tokyo, Japan
4thNovember, 1966Bangkok, Thailand
5thOctober, 1968Quezon, Philippines
6thJune, 1970Osaka, Japan
8thMay, 1974Nagoya, Japan
10thNovember, 1978Singapore
11thNovember, 1980Delhi, India
12thNovember, 1982Tokyo, Japan
13thNovember, 1984Manila, Philippines
14thMay, 1986Hiroshima, Japan
15thNovember, 1988Singapore
16thMay, 1990Nagoya, Japan
17thAugust, 1992Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
18thOctober, 1994Tokyo, Japan
19thOctober, 1996Bangkok, Thailand
20thOctober, 1998Fukuoka, Japan
21stAugust, 2000Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
22ndJuly, 2002Kyoto, Japan
23rdNovember, 2004Taipei, Taiwan
24thAugust, 2006Melbourne, Australia
25thJune, 2008Tokyo, Japan
26thAugust, 2010Daegu, Korea
27thJune, 2012Sapporo, Japan
28thSeptember, 2014Singapore
29thJune,2016Osaka, Japan
30thMay,2018Tokyo, Japan

Return to Top

----------End Text. Follows, navigation and other.